Revelations

I’ve assumed I’m stuck being fat forever. I’ve assumed that calories in/calories out is somehow not operative for me. That I suppose I would lose weight if I were in a gulag living on rats and potato skins, but not otherwise. That the only way I would ever lose weight would be to count everything, weigh everything, watch everything that goes into my mouth and if it tastes good I’d better not eat it, so basically, to be miserable the rest of my life, with all my energy going to staying thin instead of into art or experiences or friends and loved ones. Part of me still isn’t certain that’s not the case.

But if this thing works…

Maybe my problem has simply been that however healthy my food intake is, there’s too much of it. That I’ve been consuming too much fat and starch and not enough produce. Dear god, if this works, I’ll be happy to live on spinach and apples and beans the rest of my life.

I did a really helpful thing by going vegan. I don’t think I’d be doing this now if I weren’t. I proved to myself that I can stick to my principles. I’m used to prioritizing other things over goodies. I don’t need to ever eat another slice of bacon. Eventually I’ll eat cake again, if I want to, and when I do I’ll finally understand those bewildering people who are satisfied with a little cube of it.

Things have slid into place. This is going to work.

Leave a comment